September 18, 2022
Declaration of the democratic forces of Armenia about the country’s sovereignty, civilization choice, and security environment

September 17, 2022

We, the democratic political and civil forces of the Republic of Armenia, confirm our loyalty to the sovereignty and democracy of Armenia as non-negotiable values, and our determination to protect them with all the means at our disposal. We also express our determination to continue supporting the self-defense of our compatriots of Artsakh, and the protection of dignity and rights, including the right to self-determination. We also consider it important to involve the potentiality of our compatriots living in the Diaspora in ensuring the democratic and technological progress of Armenia.

At the same time, we see the future of Armenia in the family of European nations, that believe in the universal value system, that Armenia has already chosen as a civilizational direction within the European Union, strongly based on the supremacy of democracy, human rights, and rule of law.

First of all, Armenia’s security is strongly based on our national unity, the full disclosure of national potential through the democratic system, well equipped, strong, and professional army, and then the establishment of deep and reliable political and military cooperation with real allies. The allies, reaffirmed their strong adherence to international law, the universality of its application, and objective, unbiased assessment of the situation towards the aggression of Azerbaijan against the Armenian people at the meeting of the UN Security Council during the September 15 session. Became of all this, it is possible to ensure the establishment of the long-awaited peace in our region and the formation of an atmosphere of cooperation.

We once again strongly condemn the war unleashed by Russia against Ukraine, the prelude to which was the 44 days war of September 2020 unleashed against the Armenian people by the authoritarian regime of Azerbaijan. We also state that today’s war unleashed by Azerbaijan against the Republic of Armenia is completely identical to Russia’s aggression against Ukraine and differs from the latter only in scope and geography.

Awaiting the day when Russia will find its place among the leading democratic countries as blessed, today we strongly reject the imperialist and pilgrim foreign policy of the current Russian government towards Armenia, Ukraine, and other post-Soviet countries.

We demand that the Government of Armenia:

1. Take effective efforts in the direction of exiting from the CSTO – security structure led by Russia, and develop partnership alliances with our friendly Western countries.

2. Invite and deploy UN peacekeeping forces on the Armenia-Azerbaijan border.

3. Clean the state system of Armenia from agents of special services of foreign countries.

4. Block the broadcasting of Russian media promoting war and xenophobia in the territory of Armenia.


European Party of Armenia

National democratic pole

Union for National Self-Determination

For the Republic party

Council of the Armenian National Platform of the Eastern Partnership Civil Society Forum

Hovsep Khurshudyan, “Free Citizen” Civic Initiatives Support Center 

Ara Papyan, Modus Vivendi Center

Garegin Miskaryan, “Democratic Platform” Foundation

Gulnara Shahinyan, UN Special Rapporteur, “Democracy Today” NGO

Diana Yeghiazaryan, Federation of Youth Clubs

Hasmik Aslanyan, “Shogher Union” NGO

Harut Kalaijyan, “ProArmenia” NGO

Edgar Arakelyan, head of the “Free Armenia” initiative

Lusine Petrosyan, “Tatevik” NGO

Tehmine Enokyan, “Green Armenia” NGO

Knarik Garanfilyan, “Family and Community” NGO

Arzuman Harutyunyan, Association of Audio-Visual Journalists NGO

Oleg Dulgarian, “Center for Human Rights and Community Consolidation and Support” NGO

Andranik Papoyan, “PANDO” ADF

Grigor Yeritsyan, Armenian Progressive Youth NGO

Simon Sargsyan, editor-in-chief of news and analysis site

Rafael Mkhitaryan, “Third Nature” NGO

Azat Arshakyan, dissident, a former member of the RA National Assembly

Rafik Hakobyan, Ph.D. doctor, YSU professor

Levon Barseghyan, publicist

Mikael Hayrapetyan, politician

Karen Sargsyan, sociologist

Gohar Shahnazaryan, sociologist

Anush Poghosyan, psychologist

Heghine Manasyan, economist

Gayane Terzyan, pedagogue

Mari Chakryan, geo-ecologist, master, environmental management expert

Lilit Dallakyan, Master of Legal Sciences, Candidate of Political Sciences

Hasmik Tadevosyan, historian

Vazrik Petrosyan, RA citizen

Bagmajyan Gevorg – economist

Hovhannes Hovhannisyan, Green Investment Group